Microsoft certification news

OKsystem news

October 25, 2016

Microsoft released innovations in the field of IT certifications. With the introduction of Windows Server 2016 you can earn new certifications MCSA Windows Server 2016 and SQL Server 2016. Five new MCSE certifications were also introduced – four of them focused on IT administrators and one for Business Applications – and one developer certification MCSD. In this article, we will look into the certifications for IT administrators.


MCSA Certifications

Among the certifications MCSA (Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate) new certifications Windows Server 2016 and SQL Server 2016 were added. You can earn MCSA: SQL Server 2016 in three specializations: Database Development, Database Administration and Business Intelligence Development.



Recommended training

MCSA: Windows Server 2016


M20740 Installation, Storage, and Compute with Windows Server 2016


M20741 Networking with Windows Server 2016


M20742 Identity with Windows Server 2016

MCSA: SQL 2016

Database Development


M20761 Querying Data with Transact-SQL


M20762 Developing SQL Databases

MCSA: SQL 2016

Database Administration


M20764 Administering a SQL Database Infrastructure


M20765 Provisioning SQL Databases

MCSA: SQL 2016

Business Intelligence Development


M20767 Implementing a SQL Data Warehouse


M20768 Developing SQL Data Models

You can upgrade MCSA: Windows Server 2008 or MCSA: Windows Server 2012 certification to MCSA: Windows Server 2016 by one single exam 70-743. You can prepare for the exam in the course M20743 Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA: Windows Server 2016.

You can also upgrade MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014 to MSCA: SQL Server 2016 with one single exam. If you pass the exam 70-762 you will earn MSCA: SQL Server 2016 Database Development, if you pass the exam 70-765 you will earn MSCA: SQL Server 2016 Database Administration and if you pass the exam 70-768 you will earn MSCA: SQL Server 2016 Business Intelligence Development.


MCSE certifications

At the level of MCSE (Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert) four new certifications were introduced:

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

  • confirmation of skills in the fields: Private Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Windows Server
  • requirement: one of the certifications MCSA: Windows Server 2012 or 2016 or MCSA: Linux on Azure or MCSA: Cloud Platform

MCSE: Mobility

  • confirmation of skills in the fields: Enterprise Devices and Apps, Windows client
  • requirement: MCSA: Windows 10

MCSE: Data Management and Analytics

  • confirmation of skills in the fields: SQL Server, Business Intelligence
  • requirement: MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014 or MCSA: SQL Server 2016 in any specialization

MCSE: Productivity

  • confirmation of skills in the fields: Exchange Server, SharePoint Server, Skype for Business
  • requirement: MSCA: Office 365

The above-mentioned new certifications will replace the existing certifications MCSE: Server Infrastructure, Private Cloud, Data Platform, Business Intelligence, Enterprise Devices and Apps, SharePoint, Communication and Messaging. All these earlier certifications will be retired on 31. 3. 2017.

Earlier MCSE certifications have been automatically transferred to the corresponding new certification. Maybe you have already noticed in recent days an email from Microsoft, which announced that you are getting a new certificate. Through 31. 12. 2016 individuals with inactive MCSE certification can earn the new certification by taking a recertification exam or by taking a new exam from the list of electives.

Also the system of renewal of certifications is changed. Until now, any MCSE certification was valid for three years and then it was necessary to renew certification by the corresponding renewal exam. New MCSE certifications do not expire or require recertification. However, each calendar year, you have the opportunity to re-earn the certification and to receive an additional entry on your transcript. You do this by passing another exam from the list of electives.

You can order all available certification exams in OKsystem test center. We test every weekday.

Back to list