Markéta Vondroušová dominated OKsystem Zlatý Kanár award 2023

OKsystem news

December 20, 2023

We are proud to be the general partner of the ceremonial announcement of the "Tenis" magazine's poll on the best Czech female and male tennis players for the third time. In 2023, the poll was rightfully dominated by Wimbledon champion Markéta Vondroušová.

“We appreciate tennis and admire the achievements of our male and female tennis players. I wish we were so successful in other sports and industries,” said Martin Procházka while announcing the results and thus confirming our over 3-year support for young Czech tennis talents. The ceremonial announcement of the best Czech male and female players of this year’s season, OKsystem Zlatý Kanár, took place on December 20, 2023, in a sports arena in Přerov.

The tennis year for Czech representatives was not only successful but, according to the president of the Czech Tennis Association, Ivo Kaderka, also “essentially magical”. The members of the expert jury faced a challenging task: to decide the winners in 13 categories. In the Player of the Year category, last year's winner Jiří Lehečka successfully defended his title, and the best Czech female player was named Markéta Vondroušová! Furthermore, Wimbledon champion Markéta Vondroušová dominated the entire OKsystem Zlatý Kanár 2023 poll with 168 votes out of a possible 175!

OKsystem Golden Canary 2023 – Category Winners:

Golden Canary 2023: Markéta Vondroušová (I. ČLTK Prague)

The best Czech male player: Jiří Lehečka (TK Agrofert Prostějov)

The best Czech female player: Markéta Vondroušová (I. ČLTK Praha)

Advancement in the ranking ATP: Jakub Menšík (TK Agrofert Prostějov)

Advancement in the ranking  WTA: Karolína Muchová (I. ČLTK Praha)

The male/female doubles player of the year: Kateřina Siniaková (TK Sparta Praha)

The team of the year: Daviscupový tým ČR (Jiří Lehečka, Tomáš Macháč, Jakub Menšík, Adam Pavlásek)

The talent of the year - junior boys: Maxim Mrva (TK Agrofert Prostějov)

The talent of the year - junior girls: Laura Samsonová (TK Sparta Praha)

Senior of the year: Jiří Prutyszyn (I. NTC Olomouc)

The best wheelchair tennis player: Jiří Gregor (Sokol Bedřichov)

The President ’s  Czech Tennis Association Award : Miroslav Máslo a Josef Čihák

The President’s Czech Tennis Association Award for devotion and loyalty to tennis: Petr Huťka

In 2024, Czech tennis will face numerous challenges and a demanding workload. We do believe that this tennis year will be even more successful, not only in the WTA and ATP circuits but also at the representative level. OKsystem will once again be a part of this journey.

Back to list